About Us

The first Gilgandra Show was held by the Gilgandra Pastoral and Agricultural Association on Wednesday 15 May 1912. Gilgandra Show Society Inc proudly continues to present this major community event as a celebration of our local agricultural heritage and ongoing achievements.

Gilgandra Show Society Inc is a not-for-profit organisation, comprised entirely of volunteers who believe that good people working together can accomplish any common goal.

In this spirit our aim is to promote agricultural excellence through competition, while engaging, educating and entertaining our patrons and customers in a safe and controlled, yet dynamic and enjoyable environment.

Gilgandra Show Society Inc. is a member of the Agricultural Societies Council of NSW.

We warmly welcome locals and visitors to participate in our annual agricultural show.

Gilgandra Show Society Inc.


Gilgandra Show Society Inc. is a non-profit association, and is not registered for G.S.T.

ABN: 55 220 518 900

Auditor: Ryan & Rankmore Chartered Accountants, 35 Miller St, Gilgandra NSW 2827

Gilgandra Show Society acknowledges the generous assistance provided by Ryan & Rankmore Chartered Accountants.

Ryan & Rankmore Chartered Accountants

2021-22 Executive

President: Alan Smith                                 Vice President: Rochelle Easman

Secretary: Iain Thurlow                               Treasurer: Hayden Whiteman

2021-22 Management Committee

Ross Barden, Barrie Batten, Noelene Charters, Rochelle Easman, Wendy Ettershank, Una Gaff, Bruce James, Joy Marchant, David McBurnie, Alan Smith, Iain Thurlow, Hayden Whiteman.

Chief Stewards

Amiee Vernon (Cattle), Claire Mudford (Cookery), Amy Cruickshank (Dog High Jump), Andrew & Ian McCutcheon (Farmers Challenge), Bruce Bunter (Field Wheat Competition), Nikke Foran (Fine Arts), Peter McAllister (Fleece Wool), Helen Murray (Flowers), Bruce Rodway (Grain), Carol Smith (Handicrafts), Barrie Batten (Harness Racing), Jarrod & Alicia Heffer (Lawn Mower Racing), Debbie Hyde (Miniature Horses), Karen McBurnie (Needlework), Una Gaff (Photography), Ian Young (Poultry), Daniel & Rohan Volkofsky (Produce), Wendy Ettershank (Horse Ring), Malcolm Barden & Scott Chandler (Sheep), Rochelle Easman (Young Woman Competition), Edgar Markey (Showjumping), Jo Buckland (Tiny Tots),  Brooke Elsley (Ute Competition), Alan Smith & Teresa Standing (Young Judge’s Competition).

President’s Report – 2022

Despite COVID-related restrictions at the time, Gilgandra was able to stage a very successful Show last year, with over 2,600 people in attendance. This was our first year using electronic ticketing, with most tickets being purchased prior to the Show. This allowed us to manage numbers in line with our Covid Management Plan, and this process proved to be very successful.

The Show was officially opened by the State Member for Barwon, Roy Butler MP. The return of Lawn Mower Racing proved to be a big drawcard, as was Outback Thunda Monster Truck and our evening program of entertainment, which concluded in the crowd-favourite fireworks.

Gilgandra Show Society has been fortunate to receive funding from the NSW Government this year, allowing us to plan with confidence and increase our entertainment program. The Show is also strongly supported through sponsorship from our local business community. I encourage people to shop locally and continue to support these businesses.

The Showground Land Managers have continued their success in obtaining Government grants, replacing several old sheds with a modern stable facility last year, and installing a new perimeter chain wire safety fence this year. The Land Managers continue to improve the Showground Reserve in the hope that other community groups will make use of this great facility.

As with any community event, it takes a committee of people to actually make the show happen, so a big thank you for the enthusiasm and support shown by our current team of volunteers. If you’re interested in getting more involved with our region’s largest volunteer event, please come along and make yourself known to the team. We trust that you will enjoy our 2022 Show programme.

Best wishes,

Alan Smith

President, Gilgandra Show Society Inc

Life Members

  • Ross Barden (2012)
  • Barrie Batten (2012)
  • Rob Beveridge (1991)
  • Noelene Charters (2014)
  • Margaret Christie (1993)
  • Bruce James (2020)
  • Joy Marchant (2003)
  • Colin Rogers (2000)
  • Stan Thurlow (2015)
  • John White (2012)

Deceased Life Members

  • William E. Barwick (1968)
  • Ken Beveridge (1991)
  • Mary Beveridge (1936)
  • Hampton Bonnington (1968)
  • Arden R. Burrell (1964)
  • Allan Christie (1971)
  • Gordon Christie (1947)
  • Gordon Craig (2018)
  • Clarence Doud (1983)
  • Mary Doud (1994)
  • Doug F. Horwood (1988)
  • Len Hosegood (1991)
  • Max Laurie (2013)
  • Ron MacInnes (1988)

  • Enid Marchant (2020)
  • Ian Markey (1991)
  • Jack McAllister (1985)
  • Albert Milgate (2003)
  • James O’Brien (1936)
  • Ian Rogers (1988)
  • Grahame Smith (2000)
  • Rees M. Stanley (1985)
  • Robert Stanley (1936)
  • Eric Wilson (2000)
  • James Wilson (1964)
  • Joyce Wise (1993)
  • Colin Zell (1997)

Year nominated shown in brackets