Field Wheat Competition

Our annual field wheat competition is held in September / October each year, and will be advertised prior in the local press.

For information and entries, contact Chief Steward: Bruce Bunter 6847 2769.

This competition is sponsored locally by G.K. & L.H. Rohr.

The local winner qualifies for entry in the Agricultural Societies Council of NSW (ASC) Suncorp Dryland Field Wheat Competition.

Crops are judged on apparent yield, trueness to type and purity, freedom from disease, evenness and condition, freedom from weeds, and farming practices.

For the ASC competition, the State is divided into four regions, each of which comprises various Show Societies and NSW Farmers’ Associations who organise local competitions. Gilgandra is included in the Northern Region, along with Baradine, Barraba, Bellata, Bingara, Boggabri, Bourke, Burren Junction, Coonamble, Crooble, Croppa Creek, Delungra, Garah, Gulargambone, Gurley, Inverell, Manilla, Moree, Mungindi, Narrabri, Narromine, North Star, Nyngan, Tottenham, Walgett, Warialda, Warren, and Wee Waa.

The top five crops in each region are judged to determine the regional winners, from which the state winner is selected.

Rohr Perpetual Shield

G.K. & L.H. Rohr Perpetual Shield

A.S.C. Information